July!

July 5, 2007

Well, let’s start with the good news: I finally have a computer! My sweet new Macbook Pro got here on Tuesday, and man is it cool. It’s ridiculously pretty to look at and everything seems to be working great – if I want to play poker I just boot up in Windows XP (which is what it’s running right now), otherwise I use it like a normal Mac.

Ok now for the bad news: I’m getting fucking crunched on the poker tables. I honestly don’t know what to do about it, because as far as I can tell I’m playing just fine. But I’m on something like a 12 buyin downswing at 100NL right now, and it’s been absolutely sickening. A few days ago (the night of the two ewwww posts) I had what I think is my worst monetary day ever – I went from being +$100 to being -$650, all playing 100NL. You read that correctly, I went on an 8 buyin downswing at 100NL, all on one day. I’m guessing it took me about 500 hands to lose almost $800 to a pack of complete donks. Ugh.

Not only am I not winning any 50/50’s and 60/40’s, but the deck is playing mean jokes – it seems like every time I have trip aces with a king kicker the lagtard donk I’m trying to stack has some absurdly improbable boat (e.g. the time this raise-happy retard limped on the button with JJ and the flop came AAJ), and so on blah blah blah. You get the idea.

I’ll hopefully get some lessons scheduled pretty soon because I just don’t know what to do.  I hate sounding like such a whiny little bitch but the past few weeks have been seriously disconcerting. Basically, I’m very smart and very competitive, so I’m not used to being bad at things. So consistently having my ass handed to me while playing an intellectual game against people who are apparently stupid is making me lose it a bit – it’s kind of one of those “error, does not compute” feelings. Lol.

Anyways, I assume I’ll break out of this downswing eventually, but in the meantime I guess all I can do is keep working hard on my game. As much as it pains me to do so, I have to assume that I’m doing a bunch of things fundamentally incorrectly. Either I’m getting horribly unlucky or I’m just not as good as I thought I was, and everyone knows which possibility is more likely.

Cliff notes: I’m still on a nasty downswing. Trying to be mature and not get all petulant about it, but sometime’s it’s tough.